Château Livran

Château Livran

Bordeaux
Château Livran has more than 700 years of history in the Médoc region. Woods and vines surround an immense 3000m² building, harmoniously built over the centuries. It all started in 1280, with the brothers Arnaud and Béraud de Goth who were treasurers to the kings of France and England. Arnaud's son, Bertrand would be better known as Pope Clement V.
These noblemen owners continued until the 1914 war, when the property was used as a makeshift hospital. Then Château Livran became a seat for the resistance during the Second World War. It is even said that General de Gaulle spent his last night at the property before leaving for England in 1945.

Today, we find Edwige Lurton Michon, daughter of the famous Lucien Lurton and Olivier Michon running the Château. They bought the property in 2013. Inspired by this Medoc jewel, located in a contiguous geographical area, they are enjoying reviving this beautiful estate, bringing all the necessary modernity to its development, while respecting the accomplished work of their predecessors.

After much renovation work (new winery, purchase of concrete vats) and a replanting plan, the Michon family implemented a careful wine-making programme with particular attention given to the vine throughout the year. The objective: to express the diversity of the terroir as best as possible, by controlling each stage. "If we compare a vine plant to the human body, you have to give it the opportunity to develop in a harmonious way", says Olivier Michon.

Respecting both natural and human resources, the Michon couple capitalise on the estate's assets with natural temperature regulation and optimisation of the water source; this allows them to work each plot individually in the most effective way. Paying close attention to the quality of the soil and monitoring it, Edwige and Olivier work the land gently, will which soon allow them to eliminate the use of herbicide.

Today the estate produces 150,000 bottles including 50% Château Livran Cru Bourgeois and 50% Sources de Livran (second wine). With its typical Médoc terroir made up of clay-limestone soil, Château Livran also enjoys the influence of a maritime climate, which gives the vine regular water nutrition, encouraging good grape ripening.

Our wines

"This wine has a brilliant ruby-red colour and delivers a rich and intense bouquet with scents of cherry and strawberry. It has a supple attack in the mouth followed by great sweetness and plenty of volume. This well-balanced wine also offers a silky finish accompanied by aromas of fresh fruit that give it a delicious flattering character."

château livran

    Texture

2013 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc

Bordeaux

7,00 €
Instead of 8,40 €

"With an elegant intense red colour, this wine presents a toasted, spicy and floral nose. It reveals great suppleness in the mouth, plus a balance between richness and aromas of ripe fruits with red fruits dominating the finish. This is a well-rounded, harmonious and delicious wine."

château livran

    Texture

2014 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc

Bordeaux

7,00 €
Instead of 8,40 €

This purple-coloured wine with purplish blue glints is distinguished by its complex expressive nose. The floral notes blend perfectly with those of the spices and tobacco. The attack on the palate is honest, supported by great vivacity and a fine framework with smooth tannins. This is a wine that can be enjoyed for its assertive character, complex...

château livran

    Texture

2013 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc

Bordeaux

11,33 €
Instead of 13,60 €

"The complex nose reveals a slightly vanilla woodiness mingled with notes of red and black fruits and hints of violet.The dense powerful structure brings great length in the mouth, carried by the supple tannins. The aromas of red fruits, blackcurrant and blackberry express themselves fully.This is a wine of character and great subtlety."

château livran

    Texture

2014 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc

Bordeaux

11,33 €
Instead of 13,60 €

château livran

    Texture

2015 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc

Bordeaux

11,33 €
Instead of 13,60 €

Contact us

  • Château Livran
  • Mr Edwige&Olivier Michon
  • Château Livran
  • 33340 St Germain d'Esteuil
  • France

  • Wine growing region
  • Bordeaux

contact the estate

*Required Field.

Château Livran

Château Livran

Bordeaux
Le Château Livran, c’est plus de 700 ans d’Histoire dans le Médoc. Bois et vignes entourent une immense bâtisse de 3000m², harmonieusement construite au fil des siècles. Tout commence en 1280 avec les frères Arnaud et Béraud de Goth, trésoriers des rois de France et d’Angleterre. Le fils d’Arnaud, Bertrand sera d’ailleurs plus connu sous le nom de Pape Clément V.
De nobles propriétaires se sont ensuite succédés jusqu’à la guerre de 14 où la propriété est transformée en hôpital de fortune. Puis le Château Livran devient le siège des résistants pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. Il se dit même que le Général de Gaulle passa sa dernière nuit à la propriété avant de décoller pour l’Angleterre en 1945.

Aujourd’hui, nous retrouvons Edwige Lurton Michon, fille du célèbre Lucien Lurton et Olivier Michon à la tête du château. Ils ont racheté la propriété en 2013. Séduits et inspirés par cette pépite médocaine d’un seul tenant, ils se réjouissent de réveiller ce beau domaine en lui apportant toute la modernité nécessaire à son développement, dans le respect du travail accompli par leurs prédécesseurs.

Après de nombreux travaux de rénovation (nouveau chai, achat de cuves béton) et un plan de replantation, la famille Michon a mis en place un programme de vinification minutieux avec un soin particulier apporté à la vigne tout au long de l’année. L’objectif : exprimer au mieux la diversité de son terroir en maîtrisant toutes les étapes de la vigne. « Si on compare un pied de vigne à un corps humain, il faut lui donner aussi sa capacité à se développer de façon harmonieuse », déclare Olivier Michon.

Respectueux des ressources tant naturelles qu’humaines, le couple Michon tire parti des atouts du domaine avec une régulation naturelle de la température, une optimisation de la source en eau et permet de travailler individuellement chaque parcelle avec une meilleure efficacité. Très attentifs à la qualité des sols et à leur suivi, Edwige et Olivier mettent en place un travail du sol doux qui permettra bientôt d’éliminer tout herbicide.

Aujourd’hui le domaine produit 150 000 bouteilles dont 50 % de Château Livran cru bourgeois et 50 % de Sources de Livran (second vin). Avec son terroir médocain typique composé de sols argilo-calcaires, le Château Livran jouit également d’un climat sous influence maritime qui assure à la vigne une nutrition hydrique régulière, favorable à une belle maturité du raisin.

Nos vins

"D'une robe rubis brillante, ce vin livre un bouquet intense et riche avec des parfums de cerise et de fraise. En bouche il présente une attaque souple suivie d'une bonne sucrosité et beaucoup de volume. Ce vin d'un bon équilibre offre en outre une finale soyeuse accompagnée par des arômes de fruits frais qui lui donnent un caractère friand et flatteur."

château livran

    Texture

2013 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc
Bordeaux
9,60 €

"D’un élégant rouge intense, ce vin présente un nez toasté, épicé et floral.En bouche, il dévoile beaucoup de souplesse, d’équilibre entre le gras et les arômes de fruits mûrs avec une dominance de fruits rouges en finale. Il s’agit d’un vin gourmand, rond et harmonieux."

château livran

    Texture

2014 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc
Bordeaux
9,60 €

"Ce vin d’une couleur pourpre aux reflets violacés se distingue par son nez complexe et expressif. Les notes florales se fondent à la perfection avec celles d’épices et de tabac. La bouche est franche en attaque, supportée par une belle vivacité et une trame fine avec des tanins suaves. C’est un vin appréciable pour son caractère affirmé, sa palette...

château livran

    Texture

2013 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc
Bordeaux
15,60 €

"Le nez complexe révèle un boisé légèrement vanillé mêlé de notes de fruits rouges et noirs, avec des nuances de violette.La structure dense et puissante amène une belle longueur en bouche, portée par des tanins souples. Les arômes de fruits rouges, cassis et mûre s’expriment pleinement.C’est un vin de caractère tout en subtilité."

château livran

2014 - 75 cl

AOC Médoc
Bordeaux
15,60 €

Nos videos

Nous contacter

  • Château Livran
  • Mr , Mme Michon
  • Château Livran
  • 33340 St Germain d'Esteuil
  • France

  • Région viticole
  • Bordeaux

Contacter le domaine

*Champ obligatoire.