CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE

CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE

Loire
The origins of Château de Fosse-Sèche go back to the Middle Ages, when Benedictine monks planted vines there for the first time.

In 1998, the Keller-Pire family fell in love with this exceptional place and today, Adrien and Guillaume, the second generation, have taken over the reins.

Passionate about nature, the family has not only converted the vineyard to organic production, but also has created an entire ecosystem: pond, pollen meadows, organic alfalfa and uncultivated plots to encourage animals and insects. The whole estate has LPO (League for the Protection of Birds) classification.

In the heart of the 45 ha area, 17 ha of vines are planted on Jurassic soil, a real geological curiosity that gives the Fosse-Sèche wines such a distinctive character. While the Saumur vineyard is planted almost exclusively on limestone soils, the Fosse-Sèche soil is made up of flint and iron oxide stones.

Our wines

Cabernet France from a very short vatting period (between 3 to 5 days), at low temperature (less than 20°C). Ageing on lees in vats for 27 months. This fresh and powerful red wine surprises with its structure. It will be a marvelous match with duck breast, rack of lamb, pigeon and pan-fried cèpes. Enjoy!

chateau de fosse seche

    Texture

2017 - 75 cl

AOC Saumur

Loire

20,00 €

A dry Chenin made with spontaneous fermentation (native yeasts). Fermentation and ageing are conducted in vats without the use of barrels in order to respect the unique minerality of Fosse-Sèche. The attack is fresh (limes) and the finish long with incredible volume in the mouth. This highly digestible wine will make a superb aperitif and will also be a...

chateau de fosse seche

    Texture

2018 - 75 cl

AOC Saumur

Loire

22,00 €

Contact us

  • CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE
  • Mr Adrien Pire
  • Château De Fosse-Seche
  • 49700 Brossay
  • France

  • Wine growing region
  • Loire

contact the estate

*Required Field.

CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE

CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE

Loire
Les origines du Château de Fosse-Sèche remontent au Moyen-Age, lorsque les moines bénédictins y plantèrent de la vigne pour la première fois.
En 1998, la famille Keller-Pire s’éprend de ce lieu exceptionnel et aujourd’hui, Adrien et Guillaume, la deuxième génération, vient d’en reprendre les rennes.
Passionnée de nature, la famille a non seulement converti le vignoble en agriculture biologique, mais également reconstitué un véritable écosystème : étang, jachères polliniques, luzerne bio et parcelles à l’état sauvage abritent de nombreux animaux et insectes. Tout le domaine est classé Refuge LPO (Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux).
Au cœur des 45 ha d’un seul tenant, 17 ha de vignes sont plantés sur un sol jurassique, véritable curiosité géologique qui confère aux vins de Fosse-Sèche un caractère très identitaire. Alors que le vignoble saumurois est planté presqu’exclusivement sur des sols calcaires, le sol de Fosse-Sèche est composé de pierres de silex et d’oxyde de fer.

Nos vins

Cabernet Franc issu d'une cuvaison très courte (entre 3 et 5 jours), à basse température (moins de 20°C). Elevage sur lies en cuve durant 27 mois. Ce vin rouge frais et puissant surprend par sa droiture particulière. Il accompagnera à merveille magret de canard, carré d'agneau, pigeon et poêlée de cèpes. Bonne dégustation !

chateau de fosse seche

2015 - 75 cl

AOC Saumur
Loire
17,00 €

Chenin sec issu d'une fermentation spontanée (levures indigènes). La fermentation et l'élevage se sont faits en cuve sans passage en barrique afin de respecter la minéralité si singulière de Fosse-Sèche. L'attaque est fraîche (citron vert) et la finale longue avec un beau volume en bouche. Ce vin, extrêmement digeste, accompagnera aussi bien un apéritif...

chateau de fosse seche

2016 - 75 cl

AOC Saumur
Loire
20,00 €

Nous contacter

  • CHATEAU DE FOSSE SECHE
  • Mr , Mme Pire
  • Château De Fosse-Seche
  • 49700 Brossay
  • France

  • Région viticole
  • Loire

Contacter le domaine

*Champ obligatoire.